Description
This is Energizer's rechargeable COB head torch, a wide strip lamp rather than a single spot, rated at 180 lumens in high mode as printed on the retail pack. COB stands for chip on board, an LED format that puts many small emitters behind one lens, so the light arrives as a broad even wash rather than a tight circle with dark edges. The lamp head is black with a red switch on the front and sits on a black headband. A lithium-ion battery and a charging cable are listed on the pack as what you get with the light.
The pack names two more jobs beyond wearing it on your head. The lamp lifts off the band and carries a built-in clip, so it works as a hat light on the peak of a cap, or as a book light clipped to a page. That helps wherever a head strap is awkward: reading in bed without lighting the whole room, working under a car bonnet with the lamp clipped to a panel, or hooking it on a pocket while you trace the right fuse in a loft. A wide COB beam suits close work at arm's length, where a narrow spot picks out one screw and leaves the rest of the job in shadow.
Charging is by the cable in the pack, so there is no drawer full of spare cells to keep topped up. Energizer prints no runtime and no IP rating here, so we quote neither: treat the 180lm figure as the high setting and nothing more. Each order line is one head torch, and our minimum is four units, sold in multiples of four, which suits a workshop, a van, or a club store cupboard buying several at once. It sits alongside our wider range of Energizer head torches, which runs from 130 to 750 lumens.
Specification
| Light source |
COB LED |
| Brightness |
180lm in high mode, as stated on the pack |
| Runtime |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Battery |
Rechargeable lithium-ion, charging cable included, as stated on the pack |
| IP rating |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Sold as |
1 head torch with 1 charging cable |
| Minimum order |
4, sold in multiples of 4 |
Frequently Asked
How does it charge, and is a cable included?
Yes. The pack lists a lithium-ion battery and one charging cable with the light, so nothing else is needed to get it running. The connector type is not printed on the pack.
Is 180 lumens the brightest setting?
The pack gives 180lm in high mode, which tells you there is at least one lower setting, although Energizer does not print the output or the number of modes.
Can the lamp come off the headband?
Yes. The pack states a removable lamp with a built-in clip, so it can sit on a cap peak as a hat light, or grip a page as a book light.
Does it take AA or AAA cells as a backup?
The pack lists only a rechargeable lithium-ion battery and a charging cable, and makes no mention of disposable cells, so plan on charging it rather than swapping batteries.
How long will it run on a full charge?
Energizer does not print a runtime figure for this model, so we will not quote one. Any head torch runs longer on a lower setting than on high.
Is it protected against dust and water?
No IP rating is printed on the pack, so no protection is claimed here. Where sealing matters, our Energizer head torches that carry a rating state it in their own titles.