Description
Energizer's universal charger earns its name on the sizes it takes: the pack states it charges up to four AA, four AAA, four C or four D cells, or two 9V blocks. Most household chargers handle the two small cylindrical sizes and nothing else, so the C, D and 9V capability is the reason to reach for this one. It is made for rechargeable cells, and those cells are not part of the purchase; the pack gives its contents as one charger, so plan your rechargeable stock alongside it.
A universal charger tends to live where a household's odd batteries collect: a utility room shelf, a drawer in the home office, a workshop bench or a kit bag in the van. C and D cells turn up in torches, radios, lanterns and children's ride-on toys, while 9V blocks sit in guitar pedals, radio microphones and test meters, and those are the formats that usually get thrown away rather than recharged because nothing in the house will take them. If you already run rechargeable AA and AAA cells, this is the unit that brings the rest of the house onto the same footing.
A charge status indicator is built into the unit and named on the pack, so the charger signals what it is doing rather than leaving you to watch a clock. Energizer does not print a charge time, a charging current or a plug type on the pack, and the specification is silent on all three. Each unit is a single charger, and the listing has a minimum order of four, sold in multiples of four, which suits a trade counter, a site stores or anyone kitting out more than one building at once. It sits alongside our other Energizer chargers, including the 1 Hour, Base, Maxi and Pro units, each of which is supplied with AA cells.
Specification
| Charges |
Rechargeable cells, up to 4x AA, 4x AAA, 4x C or 4x D, or 2x 9V, as stated on the pack |
| Bays and indicators |
Four bays, with a charge status indicator |
| Included cells |
None. The pack gives its contents as one charger |
| Plug |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Sold as |
Single charger |
| Minimum order |
4, sold in multiples of 4 |
Frequently Asked
Which battery sizes does it take?
The pack states it charges up to four AA, four AAA, four C or four D cells, or two 9V blocks.
Are rechargeable batteries included?
No. The pack gives its contents as one charger, so buy the rechargeable cells you need separately.
Can I charge C and D cells in it?
Yes, and that is the main reason to pick it: the pack states up to four C or four D cells, sizes most small chargers will not take.
How will I know when a charge is running?
A charge status indicator is built in and named on the pack, so the unit signals its charging state rather than leaving you to time it yourself.
What plug does it use?
Energizer does not print a plug type, a charging current or a charge time on the pack, and the specification does not state them either.
Why does the order start at four?
Each unit is one charger, and this listing is sold in multiples of four, so the smallest order brings four chargers.