Description
This is the Energizer TAC-R 700, a handheld rechargeable LED torch rated at 700 lumens. Lumens measure the total light a torch gives out rather than how far the beam reaches, so 700 is the difference between lighting a whole garden path, loft or engine bay and lighting one small circle of it. The retail pack marks four modes with icons, states that a charging cable is included and shows a removable clip. In our photograph the body is black, with a knurled grip down the barrel and a button at the base.
A torch this size suits the places where you want both hands free afterwards: the hall cupboard, a car door pocket, a toolbag or a tent. The clip is the detail worth noticing, because a torch clipped to a pocket is one you still have when you climb a ladder, and because it comes off when you would rather the barrel sat flat. Four modes means the light is not only an on and off switch, so it will do close work as well as a long look down a garden. The manufacturer prints no water resistance rating on this pack, so we would keep it to indoor and fair weather jobs rather than trusting it in driving rain.
Being rechargeable changes the running cost rather than the light: there are no cells to buy again, and the cable is in the box, so the torch is ready to charge on the day it arrives. Two figures we cannot give you are the runtime per charge and the cell inside, because neither the pack nor our supplier data states them; ask us and we will put the question to Energizer. These arrive in multiples of four, so four torches is the smallest order, which works out sensibly as one per vehicle or one per floor.
Specification
| Light source |
LED |
| Brightness |
700lm, as printed on the retail pack |
| Runtime |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Battery |
Rechargeable, charging cable included per the retail pack; cell type and capacity not stated |
| IP rating |
IPX4, as stated by the manufacturer |
| Sold as |
1 torch with charging cable |
| Minimum order |
4, sold in multiples of 4 |
Frequently Asked
How bright is 700 lumens in practice?
Bright enough to light a full garden path, a loft or the inside of a van rather than a single small spot, and well above a typical keyring light.
What comes in the box?
One torch and a charging cable, which the retail pack states is included, plus the removable clip shown on the front of the pack.
How long does it run on one charge?
Energizer does not print a runtime on this pack and our supplier data does not give one, so we will not quote hours we cannot verify.
Is it safe to use outdoors in the rain?
No water resistance rating is stated for this torch, so we would treat it as unrated and keep it to indoor and dry weather use.
Does it take loose AA or AAA cells?
The pack describes it as rechargeable with a cable, but it does not state which cell is fitted or whether it can be swapped, so we cannot confirm that.