Description
This is a hand sized Energizer torch rated at 75 lumens, and it arrives ready to use because one AA alkaline cell comes in the pack with it. The retail pack calls it Hard Case Professional. In the photograph the moulded grey body is squat rather than tube shaped, with the light head sitting across the top of it rather than in line with it, and an orange switch on the upper face. A removable clip runs down one side, and the pack marks a magnet as well, so the torch can be parked on steel instead of held or propped.
Seventy five lumens is a close work figure rather than a long throw one. It is the right amount of light for a fuse box, the back of a boiler cupboard, a loft hatch, the inside of a kitchen cupboard or the engine bay of a car, where you want a pool of light a metre or two ahead of you and both hands free. That is what the clip and the magnet are there for. It is small enough to live in a glovebox, a toolbox drawer, a rucksack or a coat pocket rather than on a shelf, and an AA cell is easy to replace almost anywhere.
Water resistance is printed on the pack as IPX4, which covers splashing rather than immersion, and the pack also carries a 7M figure beside a falling arrow. Nothing further is supplied with the product about either marking, and no runtime is given, so keep a spare AA with it rather than counting on hours. If it is going to sit unused for a long stretch, taking the cell out is sensible practice with any alkaline battery. We would keep it in the same drawer as a spare pack of AA cells, which is where it will be looked for.
Specification
| Light source |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Brightness |
75lm |
| Runtime |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Battery |
1 x AA alkaline cell, included (as printed on the pack) |
| IP rating |
No full IP figure stated; the pack prints IPX4 for splash resistance |
| Sold as |
1 torch with 1 AA battery |
| Minimum order |
1, sold in multiples of 1 |
Frequently Asked
Does it come with a battery, or do I need to buy one?
One AA alkaline cell is included in the pack, so the torch works as soon as you unwrap it, and replacements are easy to find.
How bright is 75 lumens in real terms?
It is a close work brightness: enough to light a cupboard interior, a fuse box or an engine bay a metre or two away, rather than a beam for lighting a field.
Can I attach it to something instead of holding it?
Yes. A clip runs down one side and lifts off when you do not want it, and the pack marks a magnet for parking the torch on steel.
Is it waterproof?
The pack prints IPX4, which is a splash rating rather than an immersion one, so rain and wet hands are fine but do not submerge it.
How long will one AA cell run it for?
No runtime figure is printed on the pack or given in the manufacturer specification, so we cannot quote one; keep a spare cell with the torch.
What does the 7M on the pack mean?
The pack shows 7M next to a falling arrow, which reads as a drop height in metres, but no further detail is stated with the product.