Description
We sell this handheld torch as Energizer built it: a rubber cased body with a red head, a black grip, and an LED the manufacturer rates at 125lm. The rubber runs over the whole outer shell, which is what the retail pack means when it prints durable rubber construction on the front. Two AAA alkaline cells come in the pack, so the torch lights the moment you cut the card open. The pack also calls out a shatterproof lens and a folding stand, a short hinged leg that lets the torch stand on a surface and hold its beam steady without a hand on it.
This is the torch for the jobs a phone light does badly. It suits a loft hatch, a fuse board in a dark hallway, the back of a kitchen cupboard, a car boot, a garden shed or a tent at two in the morning. The folding stand is the part worth thinking about, because so many of those jobs want both hands free: propped on a step or a workbench, it works as a small task light. Lumens measure total output, so a figure in the low hundreds is aimed at the few feet in front of you rather than the far end of a field.
Rubber is easy to live with: it takes knocks without chipping, it is not slippery in a cold hand, and it wipes clean with a damp cloth. Energizer states no IP rating here, so there is nothing on record about how it copes with rain, and we would keep it clear of standing water. Alkaline cells are best lifted out if the torch is going into a cupboard for a season, because any alkaline cell left in a dormant device can leak. Keep a spare pair of AAA cells beside it and it is ready the next time the lights go.
Specification
| Light source |
LED |
| Brightness |
125lm, as rated by the manufacturer |
| Runtime |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Battery |
2 x AAA alkaline cells, included as printed on the retail pack |
| IP rating |
None stated by the manufacturer |
| Sold as |
1 torch with 2 x AAA alkaline cells |
| Minimum order |
1, sold in multiples of 1 |
Frequently Asked
What batteries does it take, and are they included?
It runs on two AAA alkaline cells, and the retail pack states that two are supplied, so there is nothing else to buy on day one.
How bright is it?
Energizer rates the LED at 125lm. Lumens count total light output, so expect a useful pool of light around you rather than a long reaching beam.
How long does it run for?
The manufacturer does not state a runtime for this torch and we will not estimate one, so the specification table records it as not stated.
Is it waterproof?
No IP rating is stated by the manufacturer, so we cannot tell you how it handles rain or splashing. We would keep it clear of standing water.
Can it stand up on its own?
Yes. The retail pack shows a folding stand that hinges out of the head, so the torch can sit on a bench and hold its beam while you work.
How many torches do I get?
One. The pack front reads 1 light, and this listing is sold singly in multiples of one, with the two AAA alkaline cells inside the same pack.