Description
This is Energizer's handheld 2D torch: a metal barrel, a rear push button in the tail and a single fixed output of 135 lumens. The D in the name is the battery size rather than a model code, and two D alkaline cells come in the pack, so there is nothing else to buy before you use it. The pack quotes a run time of 150 hours and a beam reach of 89 metres, which tells you what sort of torch this is: a long burning, far throwing workhorse rather than a pocket light.
D cells are the reason for that run time. They hold far more capacity than AA or AAA cells, so the trade off is weight and bulk in exchange for hours of light, which suits a torch that lives somewhere and waits. Ours tend to end up in the same handful of places: a kitchen drawer for power cuts, the boot of the car, a shed or garage where the light is poor, a loft hatch, or by the back door for late dog walks. The 89 metre reach printed on the pack is the useful part outdoors, where a wide flood is no help and you want to see the end of a field or a driveway. The rear button sits under your thumb as you hold it.
The body is metal in a plain silver finish, with a knurled band around the middle that gives your fingers something to hold when your hands are cold or wet. Output is fixed at 135 lumens, so there is no dimming and no mode cycling to click through in the dark. The pack also carries a one metre drop icon. Energizer states no IP rating for it, so we cannot tell you how it copes with water. It is sold singly, batteries in the box.
Specification
| Light source |
Not stated on the retail pack |
| Brightness |
135lm |
| Runtime |
150 hours, as printed on the pack |
| Battery |
2 x D alkaline cells, included |
| IP rating |
Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Dimmable |
No |
| Sold as |
1 torch with 2 D cells |
| Minimum order |
1, sold in multiples of 1 |
Frequently Asked
Does it come with batteries, or do I need to buy them separately?
Two D alkaline cells are included, as the retail pack states, so the torch is ready to use as soon as you open it.
How long will it run on one set of cells?
The pack quotes 150 hours. Real figures depend on how long you leave it switched on and on the condition of the cells you replace them with.
How far does the beam reach?
The pack states 89 metres, which is why this suits a garden, a yard or a driveway rather than only close up work indoors.
Can I dim it or switch between modes?
No. It is non-dimmable and runs at one fixed output of 135 lumens, so the rear button simply turns it on and off.
Is it rated for wet conditions?
Energizer states no IP rating for this torch and none is printed on the pack, so we cannot confirm any level of water protection.
What is the body made of?
Metal, in a plain silver finish, with a knurled band around the middle of the barrel to give your fingers some grip.